The 5th International Conference on the Physics of Optical Materials and Devices

Igalo, Montenegro, 27th to 31st August 2018




Plenary speakers


Andries Meijerink

Andries Meijerink

Andries Meijerink leads an active research group working in the field of luminescence of inorganic solids. In all his research, both the (chemical) synthesis of the luminescent materials and the measurement (including laser spectroscopy) and modeling are important. Within his group two lines of research can be distinguished:

Luminescence of rare earth ions. This research focuses on understanding the energy-level structure and luminescence of rare earth ions and using the acquired knowledge for, for example, more efficient lighting, better solar cells, and faster scintillators.

Optical spectroscopy of quantum dots. Quantum dots are nanocrystals of semiconductors which, due to their small size, have properties that are determined by the size of the nanocrystal. The research focuses on understanding the size-dependent properties and application of quantum dots as luminous labels for bio-active molecules.


Jean-Claude Bünzli

Jean-Claude Bünzli

Professor J.-C.G. Bünzli is a physical-inorganic and analytical chemist by training and an active researcher in the field of co-ordination and supramolecular chemistry of the lanthanide ions.

His research focuses mainly on the relationship between the luminescent properties of lanthanide ions and the structure of the edifices in which these ions are embedded, on the use of lanthanide ions (mainly europium and terbium) as luminescent probes for biomedical analyses, and on the design of self-assembled building blocks for the synthesis of materials with predetermined photophysical and magnetic properties. The design of receptors able to encapsulate lanthanide ions and of enhancing their physico-chemical properties follows four different approaches.


Dayong Jin

Dayong Jin

Distinguished Professor Dayong Jin directs the Australian Research Council IDEAL Research Hub and Institute for Biomedical Materials & Devices (IBMD), at the University of Technology Sydney. His research has been in the physical, engineering and interdisciplinary sciences. He is a technology developer with expertise covering optics, luminescent materials, sensing, automation devices, microscopy imaging, and analytical chemistry to enable rapid detection of cells and molecules and engineering of sensors and photonics devices. Prof Jin is the winner of the Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Interdisciplinary Scientific Research in 2015, the Australian Academy of Science John Booker Medalist in 2017, and the Prime Minister’s Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year 2017.

Lecture title: Upconversion Super dots for Multiplexing Cytometry and Super-resolution Imaging


Confirmed speakers

  • Mikhail Brik , University of Tartu, Estonia
  • Setsuhisa Tanabe, Department of Interdisciplinary Environment, Kyoto University
  • Mingmei Wu, School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Sun Yat-Sen University, China
  • Chong-Geng Ma, Chongqing University of Posts and Telecommunications, College of Sciences China, Chongqing
  • Andries Meijerink, Department of Chemistry, Utrecht University, Netherland
  • Rasmus Bro, The University of Copenhagen, Department of Food Science
  • Philippe Smet, LumiLab, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Dorota Pawlak, Department of Functional Materials, Institute of Electronic Materials Technology, Warsaw, Poland
  • Virginie Nazabal, ISCR, Université de Rennes 1, Rennes, France
  • Claudia Wickleder, University of Siegen Inorganic Chemistry, Germany
  • Joanna Cybinska, Department of Analytical Chemistry, University of Wroclaw, Poland
  • Amina Bensalah, The Institute of Light and Matter, University of Lyon, France
  • Maurizio Ferrari, IFN - CNR, Trento, Italy
  • Wong Ka-Leung, Hong Kong Baptist University, Department of Chemistry
  • John Capobianco, Concordia University Research Chair , Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Ueda Jumpei, Graduate School of Human and Environmental Studies, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Luisa Bausa, Laser Spectroscopy Research Group - UAM, Madrid, Spain
  • Fiorenzo Vetrone, INRS-EMT, University of Quebec, Canada
  • Alok Srivastava, GE Global Research, 1 Research Circle, Niskayuna, New York, USA
  • Sergey Borisov, Graz University of Technology, Austria
  • Marco Bettinelli, LLM, Dept. Biotechnology, Verona University, Italy
  • Marina N. Popova, Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Spectroscopy, Moscow, Russia
  • Georges Boulon, University of Lyon, Claude Bernard/Lyon 1 University, France
  • Andrei Naumov, Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Spectroscopy, Moscow, Russia
  • Jean-Claude Bünzli, Department of Chemistry, Hong Kong Baptist University, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • Jin Dayong, University of technology Sydney, Sidney, Australia